Staff directory

Robert Ackrill
Name:Robert Ackrill
School / Department:College of Business Law & Social Sciences, Nottingham Business School
Staff group(s):Division of Economics
Telephone:+44 (0)115 848 4234
Publication:Go to Robert Ackrill publications

Rob's role at NTU embraces the full range of academic activities. His research is in applied economics and public policy analysis.

He has particular expertise in EU policies, the WTO and agricultural trade policies, and biofuels policies. More details can be found under the 'Research' tab, and via the link to his publications.

His main teaching is on the Economics of European Union but, in most years he also contributes to a range of undergraduate and postgraduate modules on international and applied economics and, increasingly, also on research methods.

Within the Division of Economics, Rob is currently Module Leader for the Level 3 module Jean Monnet Europe and the World Economy, and Module Leader for the Level 3 Research Project (Economics). He is also the Division's Placement co-ordinator. He is a member of the NBS Research Policy Group. He chairs the NBS School Research Ethics Committee and is a member of the College Research Ethics Committee.

Rob's teaching on the Economics of the EU has received financial support from the European Commission. In 2004 he was awarded 'Jean Monnet' funding to support the creation and initial years' teaching of his module Europe and the World Economy.

In 2010 he was awarded a Jean Monnet Chair in European Economic Studies, again with funding which supports his teaching and his teaching-related research activities.

Rob places a great emphasis on teaching and has a particular interest in promoting research informed teaching as a way of enhancing the student experience.

In 2012 Rob was awarded Nottingham Trent Students Union's Inaugural Outstanding Teaching Award, for NBS.

In 2013 Rob was one of only two academics at NTU to receive the inaugural Vice Chancellor's Teaching Award.

In 2014, Rob was awarded a National Teaching Fellowship by the Higher Education Academy.