

# **Academic Board Terms of Reference 2022/23**

Extract from the Standing Orders for the Board of Governors

## Membership

The Academic Board shall comprise the following members:

- Vice-Chancellor (Chair of the Academic Board)
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Development and Performance) (Deputy Chair of the Academic Board)
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
- · Chief Operating Officer and Registrar
- Pro Vice-Chancellors
- Executive Deans of Schools, including the Chief Executive of Confetti or representative
- Executive Dean of Graduate Outcomes
- Executive Dean of Learning and Teaching
- Executive Dean Research
- Director of Doctoral School and Research Operations
- Academic Registrar
- Director of Libraries and Learning Resources
- Two student representatives (Nottingham Trent Students' Union President and VP Education)
- One member of the teaching staff of each School elected (for a term of three years) by the teaching staff of that School
- Two members of teaching staff elected (for a term of three years) by the teaching staff of the University
- One member of the permanent professional services staff elected (for a term of three years) by the permanent professional services staff as a whole.

In addition to the membership, the Head of Governance and Legal Services (Secretary to the Academic Board) shall attend each meeting. Other staff members may be invited to attend including, but not limited to, the Director of Student Support Services, the Head of Mansfield HE Hub, and up to two further student representatives (nominated by Nottingham Trent Students' Union).

#### Alternate Members

A delegate with observer status will be appointed formally as an alternate for each elected member and be able to attend meetings in their absence. Such alternate members should be in place wherever possible for the whole of the elected member's term of office and be agreed in advance with the respective Executive Dean of School or the Chief Operating Officer and Registrar as appropriate. An elected member should seek to attend all meetings, with the alternate member only attending in exceptional circumstances and no more than twice in any one Academic Year.

Deputy Deans are appointed as alternate members for the Executive Dean of their School and be able to attend meetings in their absence. The Executive Dean of each School should seek to attend all meetings with the Deputy Dean only attending in exceptional circumstances and no more than twice in any one Academic Year.

Where it is agreed appropriate to appoint an alternate for other ex-officio members, this must be agreed in advance by the Vice-Chancellor. Such delegates should only attend in exceptional circumstances and no more than twice in any one Academic Year.

The Academic Board will be serviced by a member of Governance Services who will act as Officer to the Board.

## **Principal Responsibilities of the Academic Board**

The responsibilities of the Academic Board are drawn from the Instrument and Articles of Government.

In essence, the Academic Board is the senior academic committee of the University, with a range of responsibilities relating to the organisation of learning and teaching, research, scholarship, standards, students and programmes and advising the Vice-Chancellor on academic matters.

Subject to the provisions of the Instrument and Articles, to the overall responsibility of the Board of Governors and to the responsibilities of the Vice-Chancellor, the Academic Board shall be responsible for:

- policy issues relating to the research, scholarship, learning, teaching and programmes at the University, including criteria for the admission of students;
- the appointment and removal of internal and external examiners;
- policies and procedures for assessment and examination of the academic performance of students;
- the content of the curriculum;
- academic standards and the approval, monitoring and review of courses;
- the award of, and the procedures for the award of, qualifications and academic titles, including honorary awards;
- agreements with other validating and accrediting bodies, including professional institutions and other education providers;
- the overview of all collaborative provision entered into by the University;
- the procedures for the expulsion of students for academic reasons;
- considering the development of the academic activities of the University and the resources needed to support them, and for advising the Vice-Chancellor and Board of Governors thereon; and
- advising on such other matters as the Board of Governors or the Vice-Chancellor may refer to the Academic Board.

The Academic Board may establish and disestablish such committees as it considers necessary to enable it to carry out its responsibilities. The number and nature of members of any such committee, the method by which they are to be elected or appointed, and the terms of reference for the same shall be determined by the Academic Board.

## **Academic Board Membership 2022/23**

#### **Ex-Officio Members**

- Vice-Chancellor, Chair
- Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Development and Performance), Deputy Chair
- Chief Operating Officer and Registrar
- Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
- Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education)
- Pro Vice-Chancellor (International)
- Academic Registrar
- Executive Dean of School of Arts and Humanities
- Executive Dean of Nottingham Law School
- Executive Dean of School of Architecture, Design and the Built Environment (ADBE)
- Executive Dean of Nottingham School of Art & Design
- Executive Dean of School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences (ARES)
- Executive Dean of School of Science and Technology
- Executive Dean of School of Social Sciences
- Executive Dean of Nottingham Business School
- Director of Education (Confetti)
- Executive Dean for Graduate Outcomes
- Executive Dean of Learning and Teaching
- Director of Doctoral School and Research Operations
- Director of Libraries and Learning Resources
- Nottingham Trent Students' Union President
- Nottingham Students' Union Vice President, Education

#### **Elected Members**

One member of the teaching staff of each School elected by the teaching staff of that School. Tenure of three years for the period 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2025.

- Elected member for the School of Arts and Humanities
- Elected member for the School of Architecture, Design and the Built Environment
- Elected member for the Nottingham School of Art & Design
- Elected member for the School of Science and Technology
- Elected member for the School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences
- Elected member for Nottingham Business School
- Elected member for the School of Social Sciences
- Elected member for Nottingham Law School

Two members of teaching staff elected by the teaching staff of the University. Tenure of three years for the period 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2025.

- Elected member for the University's Teaching Staff
- Elected member for the University's Teaching Staff

One member of the permanent professional services staff elected by the permanent professional services staff as a whole. Tenure of three years for the period 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2025.

• Elected member for the Professional Services Staff

### **Attendance by Invitation**

- Director of Student Support Services
- Head of Governance and Legal Services, Secretary
- Head of Mansfield HE Hub
- Nottingham Students' Union Vice President, Postgraduate