Skip to content

Royal Television Society awards 2014 undergraduate bursary to NTU student

The Royal Television Society has announced the 20 individuals who will receive bursaries as part of its inaugural undergraduate bursary scheme, including a student from Nottingham Trent University.

Royal Television Society Award
A Broadcast Journalism student at NTU is to receive an RTS bursary for his studies
The response to our inaugural bursary scheme has been fantastic and I'm excited to announce the first beneficiaries.

Theresa Wise, RTS CEO

The Royal Television Society (RTS) – Britain's leading forum for television and related media and an educational charity whose purpose is to promote the art and science of television – has announced the 20 individuals who will receive bursaries as part of its inaugural undergraduate bursary scheme.

The scheme, with funding totalling £60,000, aims to widen participation in media and related industries and assist talented people who need financial support.

Included in the recipients is Oreoluwa Olukoga who will be starting a course at Nottingham Trent University. He will receive £3,000 (£1,000 per year) to assist with his studies. In addition he will receive mentoring, free membership of The Hospital
Club and the RTS while studying and one year's free membership of the RTS after he graduates.

Oreoluwa Olukoga is awarded a grant towards the BA (Hons) Broadcast Journalism course.

Theresa Wise, RTS CEO, said: "Great talent can be lost without the right support. We're committed to finding, funding and nurturing the next generation and through the RTS Undergraduate Bursary Scheme I am convinced that we can make a critical contribution. The response to our inaugural bursary scheme has been fantastic and following an exacting selection process I'm excited to announce the first beneficiaries – all of whom stood-out and demonstrated ambition and commitment to learning. We look forward to following their future career achievements."

Graeme Thompson, Chair of the RTS Education Committee and Dean of Arts, Design and Media at Sunderland University, added: "More than ever before there are talented individuals who, without additional financial support, would be unable to go to university. The RTS Undergraduate Bursary Scheme is a real opportunity to gain first class support and funding. The calibre of applicants has been outstanding and I look forward to seeing these recipients lay the foundations of their future careers."

Carole Fleming, Director for the Centre for Broadcasting and Journalism at Nottingham Trent University, said: "It's great to see the Royal Television Society investing in future talent with this Undergraduate Bursary Scheme. I'm sure the help they're giving – not only financially but through mentoring – along with the great teaching and facilities we have at NTU will give Oreoluwa the best possible start in his career."

The recipients were selected by a panel of industry professionals following an open call to students applying for eligible UK courses.

  • Notes for editors

    Press enquiries please contact Helen Breese, Public Relations Manager, on telephone +44 (0)115 848 8751, or via email.

    Alternatively, contact Teresa Hunt, hobnob PR, on telephone +44 (0)7939 202613 or via email

    About the Royal Television Society:

    The Royal Television Society is Britain's leading forum for television and related media. Membership is open to everyone with an interest in the medium.

    The RTS was granted its Royal title in 1966 and HRH The Prince of Wales became Patron of the Society in 1997.

    The RTS brings together people to exchange ideas, debate and explore key issues. The RTS Awards are an internationally recognised hallmark for quality and originality.

    For over 80 years, the RTS has provided the UK's main platform for debate about the future of television. Its lectures, events and publications make a substantial contribution to raising standards and developing practice.

    The RTS organises dinners with influential speakers, lectures, monthly sessions on current issues, and the world famous biennial Cambridge Convention sets the agenda for the future.

    Television, the leading UK monthly on television issues and broadcasting policy, is distributed free to members.

    Separate RTS Awards events cover Programme Making, Television Journalism, Craft and Design, Students and Innovation.

    Many of the Society's dinners and conventions are oversubscribed. Patron and individual membership entitles members to priority applications and advanced booking.

    There are 12 regional centres in the UK, and a Republic of Ireland Centre located in Dublin. Each Centre provides a mix of programme, technical, and craft events.

    The Society is an educational charity, embracing all aspects of television, including the creative community, broadcasting, equipment manufacture, professional consultancy, journalism, design, research and development, cable, satellite, video and interactivity.

    The Society relies for its future on the contributions of individual members, corporate Patrons and the hard work of its volunteers. Individual membership is available from £65.00 per year.

Royal Television Society awards 2014 undergraduate bursary to NTU student

Published on 22 October 2014
  • Category: Press office; School of Arts and Humanities

Still need help?

+44 (0)115 941 8418