Skip to content

Graphic Design students hold creative workshop for local refugees

A mixture of first and second year students helped to deliver the activities in partnership with NTU’s Widening Participation team

Artwork made during the creative workshop
Artwork created during the workshop

Students on the BA (Hons) Graphic Design course at Nottingham Trent University have recently led a workshop for young refugees and asylum-seekers in Nottingham.

Inspired by the University’s vision that students from all backgrounds should have the same access to opportunities as home students, the activities were peer-led. The students helped the attendees to bring their ideas and thoughts to life visually, as well as responding to the tasks themselves.

Graphic Design lecturer Jenna Alldread coordinated the workshop, and she hopes the visual conversation will eventually culminate in an exhibition. She explained a little more about how the workshop came about: “This is the third year in which Graphic Design students have worked in partnership with the widening participation team at NTU. This year we invited thirty refugees and asylum-seeking young people to come in and make some art and design work.”

Monoprint made during the creative workshop
Monoprint created during the workshop

She continued: “The participants were really excited to do something hands on and creative. We had four stations, each offering a different activity. This year these included drawing with tape, drawing without looking, college and mono-printing, and a challenge to draw one another.”

She added: “The atmosphere was calming and brought home how powerful drawing as a communication tool can be, and as a means to express ourselves. The students were inspired and humbled.”

Student Peter Abrahart commented that the workshop was "so unbelievably rewarding and so much fun, too."

The students involved in the workshop were Sammy Aboushoushah, Pete Abrahart, James Adekitan, Alice Bishop, Constance Bullock, Neve Casey, Ming Chong Li, Tom Clarke, Lily Clements, Aaron Dennel, Brendan Farrell, Kay Hammond, Lizzie James, Saskia James, Morgan Lodge, Emily McCarthy, Maria Pais, Loren Puopolo, Katie Purcell, Charlie Springett, Franki Ward and Shannon Woodfield.

Published on 30 January 2018
  • Category: Culture; School of Art & Design