Skip to content


There are eGates in place to enable quicker entry into the UK at the border, you should only use them if you are eligible. You'll find all the details on this page.

Image of eGates

What are eGates?

eGates are an automated self-service border gate option that eligible travellers can use at 15 UK entry points.

They are a quicker and easier way to cross the border, but you should only use them if you are eligible.

The 15 entry points include 13 UK airports: Birmingham, East Midlands, London City, Luton, Stansted, Heathrow, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Manchester, Newcastle, Bristol, Cardiff and Gatwick.

They can also be used at Eurostar terminals in Brussels (Midi/Zuid) and Paris (Gare du Nord).

Can I use them?

To use eGates, you must:

  • have a biometric passport.

You're eligible to use eGates if you're a national from:

  • the EU
  • EEA countries including Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland
  • Australia
  • Canada,
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • United States of America

Do not use eGates if you are travelling with dependents under 12.

Keep evidence of your travel to the UK

It is very important that you keep evidence of your travel to the UK because you will not receive a stamp in your passport.

This could be a boarding card, ticket or booking confirmation.

The evidence should include your name / passport number and photocopies or screenshots of these documents are acceptable.

You must present these documents when you enrol at NTU and to your accommodation provider.

Visit GOV.UK  for more information about eGates.

Still need help?

International Development Office
44 + (0) 115 848 8175