Units of assessment

Under the Research Excellence Framework (REF), there are 36 different Units of Assessment (UoA) which universities can submit to. Each UoA covers a range of subject areas and every submission in these subject areas is peer reviewed by a panel of academic and industry experts to assess the quality of research undertaken by the UoA in terms of originality, significance and rigour.

Research at NTU is aligned to the following Units of Assessment:

In addition to being assessed on the quality of research outputs, UoAs will also be measured on the impact of their research as well as on the research environment provided within the institution.

NTU aims to build on its previous successes in the 2008 RAE which shows that 74% of the research activity submitted achieved international status with 8% classed as world-leading.

Units of assessment

Published on 8 February 2017

Still need help?

+44 (0)115 941 8418