Skip to content

Sharon Huttly

Deputy Vice-Chancellor - Academic Development and Performance



Professor Sharon Huttly took up the post of Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Academic Development and Performance in April 2020.

As Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sharon Huttly represents the Vice-Chancellor at external and internal events, and is responsible for:

  • Development, enhancement and innovation of our teaching and learning
  • Management of the Executive Deans who lead our Academic Schools
  • Academic oversight of the strategic planning cycle
  • Senior sponsorship of such activities as NTU’s Mansfield and Ashfield development programme and in relation to its membership of Athena SWAN.

Career overview

Prior to joining NTU, Sharon was Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education and EDI at Lancaster University (2014 – 2020).  She previously held various roles at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), University of London where, most recently, she was Dean of Studies responsible for leading LSHTM’s learning and teaching. With a disciplinary background in statistics and epidemiology, for over 20 years Sharon’s research at LSHTM was principally concerned with child health and nutrition in low- to middle-income countries, with a shift in later years towards research in postgraduate education and online learning. She has worked extensively in South America, West Africa and Asia. Sharon is a Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Sharon was born in Nottingham but remembers little about it, having moved around the UK and having spent two years living in Brazil.  She can now see the Lake District’s hills from her back garden and spends most of her leisure time outdoors with her family, dogs and horse.

External activity

Sharon has served on various national working groups and committees, including recently as a member of the Office for Students’ Teaching Excellence and Student Outcomes Framework (TEF) Panel.  She is a member of both Advance HE’s Teaching and Learning Strategic Advisory Group and of the British Academy’s Higher Education Policy Committee.