Term dates

Find term dates for both undergraduate and postgraduate students.

For the majority of undergraduate courses the teaching year consists of 30 weeks, split into three ten-week terms.

Some postgraduate courses within the below schools run to a different set of term dates. For more information, please follow the links below:

Term dates 2020 / 2021

Event Term Dates
WelcomeFriday 25 September 2020
Term One Start Monday 05 October 2020
UG Term One Weeks 10 Weeks
Term One Ends Friday 11 December 2020
Winter Graduation Monday 14 – 18 December 2020
Christmas Break 4 Weeks
Term Two Start Monday 11 January 2021
UG Term Two Weeks 12 Weeks
Postgraduate January Start Monday 18 January 2021
Half Year Assessments Monday 18 January – Friday 29 January 2021
End of first half year Friday 12 February 2021
Start of second half year Monday 15 February 2021
Term Two Ends Thursday 01 April 2021
Bank Holiday (Good Friday) Friday 02 April 2021
Bank Holiday (Easter Monday) Monday 05 April 2021
NTU Holiday Tuesday 06 April 2021
Easter Break 2 Weeks
Term Three Start Monday 19 April 2021
UG Term Three Weeks 8 Weeks
PG Online/Distance Learning Start Date Monday 19 April 2021
Bank Holiday (May Day) Monday 03 May 2021
Bank Holiday (Spring) Monday 31 May 2021
NTU Holiday Tuesday 01 June 2021
Main Assessments Monday 17 May – Friday 11June 2021
Term Three End Friday 11 June 2021
Summer Graduation Monday 12 July – Friday 23 July 2021
Resit Assessments Mon 23 August – Friday 3 September 2021
Bank Holiday (August) Monday 30 August 2021

Term dates 2021 / 2022

Event Term Dates
Welcome Friday 17 September 2021
Term One Start Monday 27 September 2021
UG Term One Weeks 11 Weeks
Term One Ends Friday 10 December 2021
Winter Graduation Monday 13 – 17 December 2021
Christmas Break 4 Weeks
Term Two Start Monday 10 January 2022
UG Term Two Weeks 12 Weeks
Postgraduate January Start Monday 17 January 2022
Half Year Assessments Mon 17 January – Friday 28 January 2022
End of first half year Friday 04 February 2022
Start of second half year Monday 07 February 2022
Term Two Ends Friday 01 April 2022
Bank Holiday (Good Friday) Friday 15 April 2022
Bank Holiday (Easter Monday) Monday 18 April 2022
NTU Holiday Tuesday 19 April 2022
Easter Break 2 Weeks
Term Three Start Wednesday 20 April 2022
UG Term Three Weeks 7 Weeks
PG Online/Distance Learning Start Date Wednesday 20 April 2022
Bank Holiday (May Day) Monday 02 May 2022
Bank Holiday (Spring)Thursday 02 June 2022
Platinum Jubilee Bank HolidayFriday 03 June  2022
Main Assessments Monday 09 May – 01 June 2022
Term Three EndWednesday 01 June 2022
Summer GraduationTBC
Resit Assessments Monday 01 August – Friday 12 August 2022
Bank Holiday (August) Monday 29 August 2022
  • Last updated: 07/09/2021