Skip to content


Fellowships, or the NTU Professional Recognition Scheme, offers NTU staff members the chance to celebrate the fantastic work they do to support learning and teaching at the institution.

HEA Fellowship is a nationally recognised accreditation that evidences a staff members’ commitment to improving learning and teaching practice. By becoming a Fellow, you join a strong community of scholars who share and develop innovative practice. Advance HE coordinates Fellowship accreditation nationally.

There are four categories of Fellowship:

  • Associate Fellow;
  • Fellow;
  • Senior Fellow; and
  • Principal Fellow.

You can find out where you sit on the United Kingdom Professional Standards Framework (UKPSF).

The Submission

The submission is a series of case studies, where individuals collate examples of how they have developed learning and teaching to a set of criteria.

The criteria stipulates for individuals to highlight the context they enhanced learning and teaching, why there was a need in the discipline, and what the requirements were for the learners. This then supplies the justification for your submission in which you explain your role, your influence, and how you worked.

What is important is that your submission is evidence-based, pedagogically driven and linked to data and knowledge.

More information is available on the NOW Learning Room.

Submission Deadline

There are various submission points throughout the year so that staff members can get involved at any point, and our Academic Practice team will support you throughout the process.

Support includes the facilitation of writing workshops or drop-ins. If you are interested, contact

Still need help?

+44 (0)115 941 8418