Skip to content

Byron

Meet the Byron Residence Assistants

Ella Porter-Hough

Hi! My name is Ella, A second year Education (Psychology) BA (Hons) student. This is my first year of being a RA, and I am excited not only to carry on my university journey but to help you with yours. I regularly attend badminton play for fun sessions and enjoy meeting new people. So, if you have any questions or want to chat, please feel free to approach me and say hello!

Olimpia-Constanta Zagnat

Hi everyone! My name is Olimpia, I’m a final year Journalism student and part of the Resident Adviser team based in Byron. I’m originally from Romania and going to university came along with big changes for me, including moving to another country. So I know that starting your student experience can be stressful and challenging, but I can assure you that it can be equally exciting. Please feel free to ask me any questions or just to come and say hi!

Luke Grosch

I am a 21 year-old global studies & international relations student who focuses his studies on the anthropology of South American indigenous groups. My hobbies are relatively mixed; football/fifa, Anthropology, fashion, Meditation and cooking/baking, gym.

How I can help: The ways in which I can help you best are;

Reflexivity: I spent last year of university taking time out of studies and working on my mental health and personal problems. To achieve this, you must understand yourself. This comes from critical thinking about yourself and your situation. I have methods for working on this amongst other techniques to help you learn yourself better. So if this is something you could benefit from, do not hesitate to set up a meeting with myself.

Cooking and nutritional issues: I am lactose intolerant and vegan (I also intermittent fast). Issues with food have meant my nutrition has been limited in the past; however, veganism changed this for me. If you have a nutritional issue, I have become fairly well versed in dealing with such. Additionally I have grown up in a multi-ethnic, multi-faith family (English/African, Agnostic/Muslim) and thus have a good understanding of world foods and also religious practices in regards to food. A family that contains chefs, means I had university easy in terms of cooking as I had been taught how to cook meals from a very young age. So with all this in mind, I'm the ideal person to ask if you need cooking advice. Want to try a veggie/vegan meal a week or are looking into changing your diet and the stigma around 'costs' is scaring you? Feel free to come and chat to me.

Mental health: I have dealt with bouts of depression, suffer from anxiety (social and health anxiety), and am pending an ADHD diagnosis. And anyone with either of these or symptoms will know that some days can be perfectly fine and a moment later the world is falling apart around you. This is okay and normal, but learning to take each day as it comes can really help. We can combat this with mindfulness (meditation amongst other techniques), which can create a considerable difference. This may not work perfectly for everyone but a combination of the right things and adjustments to your day to day activities can really make a difference. I am willing to talk about anything and everything regarding mental health. Everyone is welcome, remember that it is okay to be emotional and to express yourself.

Social sciences: Any help with politics courses and social sciences, particularly sociology and anthropology I am more than happy to be of assistance. I have recently studied the Mexico-US border with Trent at a University in Baja California. I am happy to share some of the enlightening information I've gathered from that, or to discuss anything to do with: politics, people, and culture. Environment too!

Hamza Ismael

Hi, I’m Hamza, and will be one of your resident advisors. I will be going into my fourth year with the university, studying a masters in law. I’m really excited to meet you all.

Gabrielle Rockson

Hi, I'm Gabrielle! I'm a final year History and International Relations student and I'm also learning Spanish on the university language programme. I love to meet with my friends, go to the gym, read and write. My favourite thing about uni has been the multiple opportunities I've been able to grab. Joining the radio society in my first year, enabled me to create a demo, which I then used to secure work experience at BBC Nottingham, Heart Radio and more. If you need any advice or help, don't hesitate to ask me and I can try to help as much as I can.