Skip to content

Starpack Student Awards 2023

Record number of awards given to NTU Product Design students at the 2023 Starpack Students Awards Ceremony.

A total of 33 Product Design students were recognised at this year’s Starpack Students Competition, which also included NTU picking up the Eric Dickens Memorial Prize for the second consecutive year.

StartPack Student Logo
Starpack Student Awards 2023

NTU students studying across the BSc (Hons) Product Design and BA (Hons) Product Design courses were invited to the Starpack Students Competition awards ceremony on Thursday 22nd June 2023 where they picked up no less 33 awards which included 2 Sponsor/Gold Awards, 8 x Gold Awards, 6 x Silver Awards, 14 x Bronze Awards and 3 x Highly Commended Awards. NTU was also awarded the Eric Dickens Memorial Award.

Established in 1964, Starpack Students is a competition run by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), for learners aged 18+ which challenges students to design solutions to problems set by brand leading FMCG companies, design agencies and manufacturers, and win recognition of their excellence.

Work is judged on the basis that students challenge conventional thinking and ‘break the rules’ using creative decision-making. Two NTU students won the sponsor prize/awards for their respective individual briefs. These were:

New packaging for products
James Albosh – Winner of Brief A: Replacing Multi-Material Packaging
New design for Evian water bottle packaging
Luke-Anthony Peart – Winner of Brief E: Sustainable Solutions with Corrugated Cardboard

The winners were awarded cash prizes of £500. Luke-Anthony Peart’s award also includes a trip to Crown Packaging drink can manufacturing plant in Botcherby (Leicestershire) or Carlisle.

Samuel Palmer was also awarded a £100 cash runner up prize for Brief C: Metal Gift Pack for Champagne or Sparkling Wine (Sponsored by The Metal Packaging Manufacturers Association).

New bottled wine design
Samuel Palmer - Brief C: Metal Gift Pack for Champagne or Sparkling Wine

The ceremony was capped off by NTU winning the Eric Dickens Memorial Award for the second consecutive year. This award recognises the most successful institution in the competition and is awarded to a college or university in recognition of its success and acknowledging that this is indicative of the high quality of packaging design evident at the college/university. We are therefore thrilled to bring it back to NTU yet again.

Dr Luke Siena, Lecturer in Product Design, who led the students through the competition submissions said:

The student’s accomplishments show their dedication to learning about the packaging sector and their attention to detail within their packaging projects. Our staff team is thrilled by our student’s success who collected the highest number of awards for NTU students at the Starpack Students Competition to date. This is a true reflection of the time, effort, and hard work that everyone puts into the individual student projects when supporting the competition entries. Our sponsor awardees and gold, silver and bronze awardees are now eligible to be entered into the WorldStar Student Awards Competition 2023/24 which is the global packaging design competition for students. We look forward to supporting them and hopefully achieving more success later in the year.

BSc Product Design course leader Dr Joseph Stewart added:

The success at Starpack Students is a testament to the competence and relentless work ethic of our Product Design students at NTU. To surpass last years’ success in the competition is simply superb. Many congratulations to all who took part.

The winners brochure detailing all of the awardee’s entries can be found here.

Congratulations to all the NTU students recognised in this years’ competition:

Danial Afzal, James Albosh, John Barrett, Cameron Black, Davina Chauhan, Angelus Collins, Lois Darling, Zachary Davidson, Fahim Dhebar, Jonny Douglas, Tom Evans, Deeya Halai, Ethan Howard, Daniel Jarvis, Chia-Chun Keng, Ben Lawrence, Charlie Marchini, Toby Maurice, Rory Moynihan, Sophie Nicolin, Princess Nnene, Edward Owen-Stiff, Samuel Palmer, Luke-Anthony Peart, Eloise Pegg, Sara Roberts, Amy Rutherford, Cameron Sandy, Luke Scovell, James Shaw, Charles Sissons, Lauren Thompson and Abbie Williams.

Published on 23 June 2023
  • Category: Press office; School of Architecture, Design and the Built Environment